L16 issues

Spawn

Hi, I'm new to Ratsun (& owning a Datsun) and was wondering if I might be able to get some advice/opinions on what I should do.  I just picked up a 1972 620 that was in pretty decent shape.  All of the panels were quite good, with a tiny bit of bubbling in the paint here and there, a few spots of rust forming on the bumper and on the bottom of the passenger door (pretty sure it's because the window squeegee's are all brittle and missing chunks, so the water is just running down into the bottom of the door).  Everything appeared to be stock, drums all around, L16 engine that looks as though it was recently gone over (new alternator and quite clean engine - oil was fairly new as well, most likely a fresh oil change and maybe a power wash of the engine?) with the 4 speed transmission.  She started up just fine and ran fairly well with a bit of a sound coming from the engine which we (my buddy and I) thought was possibly either some valvetrain noise or an exhaust manifold sound, but it didn't seem to be anything serious.

Anyway, long story short, on the 450 mile drive home from picking the truck up, she decided to give up the ghost about 50 miles from the end.  Had it towed to a nearby shop who have finally had a chance to check it out.  After using a borescope, the technician said that he sees the valve has dropped into the cylinder, flipped over and managed to punch the stem through the piston (didn't bother asking which cylinder, as it probably doesn't really matter at this point).