Just bought a 72 pl521 just has a few minor issues... Can someone help?

bigbeek

I just recently acquired a 72 521 datsun pickup

it runs fantastically even though it sat for 4 years

it took 4 days of tinkering to get it to start but I'm having a few electrical issues that I'm at a loss with.

I have no power to all the rear lights and horn.

I studied the box and I believe I might need to re run the battery wire to the fuse box but I wanted a second opinion from other people before I jump the gun.

I'm a younger classic car enthusiast and this is my first project! So any help would be appreciated

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The fuse box is removable so take a picture of where the wires go and remove it. Find a suitable container and soak in vinegar over night. Th vinegar will loosen and remove the tarnish on the copper parts of the box. Next morning thoroughly wash with clean water and install with NEW fuses. Fuses are not to be trusted on looks alone, always replace them. This will likely fix electrical problems you don't even know you have yet.

This is always a good idea for preventing problems later too.

This is a good start.

521wires.jpg

Here is a diagram of lights only.

LightWires.jpg

Make sure you have good grounds.  The battery negative to the engine, by the fuel pump.   There is a ground wire that goes down to the alternator frame.  There is another ground wire from the alternator frame to the voltage regulator mount.  If your truck has had an internal regulator alternator swap, the ground wire to the voltage regulator mount must stay in place.  It grounds the cab to the engine.  Without it, the cab will try to ground through the throttle cable, and destroy it.

The frame needs to be grounded to the engine.  The bed needs to be grounded to the frame.