1971 510. need advice on how to lower it

NitroRat

so i just recently took on a job to help restore a 1971 510 4dr sedan. my main focus is on the suspension. i want to lower it 2 inches maybe more however im not that experienced in suspension. so my question is how should i lower it on a budget of about $150 maybe $200. should i use zx struts? if you can please try to include pictures of suspension parts. plus i dont exactly know where or what the spring perch is. so basically treat me like i have a basic understanding of all this

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Two inches, no problem. The fronts will cost almost $30 to modify and the rears pretty much nothing. This will not up grade anything but only lower about 2". The car should handle better with the lower center of gravity.

This sounds like a setup from the resident Troll.  But I will proceed.

A quick search of "lowering 510" would have gotten you more info than you could imagine. That's where I got most of my knowledge!

$200 budget won't get you far.  To do it right, with coilovers front and or rear, camber adjusters, LCA, brake master cylinder, strut inserts, camber/toe adjusters for the rear... and more I'm forgetting,  expect about $1000 maybe more if you're buying everything.  Everything depends on what you do to the car;  How low? What brakes? What wheels/tires? etc. 

Option 1) Cut front and rear springs to desired ride height and done.  LCAs on the front will help with bumpsteer. Camber toe brackets in the rear will help alignment.

Option 2)  For more lower; Cut and lower the spring perch and cut the spring, buy a set of strut inserts to match length and travel, buy a set of LCAs, and you should be good to go on the front.  For the rear, cut the springs and or use Dodge D50 springs, new shocks to match length and travel of cut springs.  Buy camber/toe brackets.