Resurection & 1st Drive

difrangia

Semi Noob here in Oklahoma. I've been in the group for bout four months and have learned a helluva lot form you guys. I've gained priceless knowledge regards the '78 620 that I picked up last Spring and also picked up a few sorely needed parts to get this little honey back on the road. I've known this 'Lil Hustler' since she was new. Neighbor down the street bought her new and died about 25 years ago. His widdow kept her around, using occasionally for yard work and storing under the carport. She's now in her 90's ( the lady, not the pickup ) and still works in her yard.

Long story short, the pickup became available and I had to have her. The owner had let her son (probably in his 70's now) off & on. Either the lady or her son had jumped a rocker off and bent a valve and she'd set for a good while in the carport. I moved her the block to my carport, determined the ailment she suffered from, and commenced the teardown. I got her fired up early this last week and went for the first drive today. odo shows 55,4xx miles and she drives like it. No rattles, bumps, grinds or lurches. Want to thank you all again for the help you've given. I'll be needing a few more items in getting her back to top shape.

Oh Yeah;   The Oics!!!

1stDriveRF_zpsc0a01278.jpg

Haven't even dusted the carport dust off her yet

1stDriveLF_zpsaa5dd9e4.jpg1stDriveRR_zpsbcdb3454.jpg

Look at the tail on that'n

1stDriveInterior_zps8561f9a8.jpg

Initially thought I'd get rid of that 'Trucker's Knob' on the steering wheel, but I'm havin' second thoughts after a short drive.

EngineRoomDriverSide_zps7afa5dd8.jpg

Let's check in on the ol' engine room.

EngineRoomPassSide_zps1d5e8ee4.jpg

Still a bit of polishing and paint touch-up but a lot has been accomplished. cleaned up and polished the inner fender wells. Gotta work on the cowl, radiator, and header a bit.

GoodCompany_zps526db033.jpg