1980 720 2WD (AZJones' Build Thread)

arizonajones

Hi all,

I'm new here and I just bought this 1980 720 2WD King Cab off of Craigslist. This is my first Datsun and will be my first completely DIY vehicle in 13 years. (So forgive me if some of my questions are dumb ones!) I'm not mechanically un-inclined, though, I come from a VW-building family and I'm a DIY bicycle mechanic. Here's a shot of her--

09b61676-1f30-4328-923a-00345ce6e935_zps

It drives okay, but I've got a growing list of priorities to dive into...

The biggest thing I would love some advice on, though, is the idle/mixture/choke/carb.

--The guy I bought it from said it would randomly idle too slow, fast, or just right. Sometimes it dies when you come to a stop, sometimes not.

--I adjusted the choke back to its center mark (it was just floating in space with no tension) and that helped a bit but still didn't solve it.

--I've cleaned it inside and out with carb cleaner

--I've adjusted the idle speed and air mix up and down and had no solid results. It seems like it is solved with a higher idle and a richer mix, but then I get a couple blocks down the road and it sputters out when I slow down at the stop sign.

I'm wondering if this is just is just a temperamental old carb, or a symptom of something bigger?

The rest of my list-

-Check (and possibly add) gear oil to transmission (but the the bolt is stuuuuck)

-Add air pump back into system (There isn't one, currently)

-Add new muffler and last section of exhaust (that's not there either)

-Replace driveshaft support bearing (the rubber boot is falling apart)

-Tighten connection of sideview mirrors (rusted loose)

-New and/or re-upholster seats

-Body/Paint/wheels

It would be much appreciated if anyone could recommend some good new or used parts sources near Portland, OR. And if anyone local feels up to drinking a beer in my driveway and enlightening me, let me know (I'll buy good beer...) Thanks!

• Like 1
  • Replies 105
  • Created