4wd 1973 620 pickup

i am totally new to all this but i am starting with a huge project, converting a '73 620 to 4wd and to top it all of i will be building an exo cage and dropping in a jeep motor for added power. i am open to ideas and advice. i will post picts as soon as i figure out ho to. 

• Replies 517
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Beat you to it.

Well almost.

This one won't be running the Jeep 6 . It will be sporting a full exo / 8274 Warn winch /Dana 44's /   Scout rear / wag front / Dana 20 divorced twin stick with Terra low kit/

Shackle reverce front on Yota rear springs ETC> ETC> ETC......

p_001.jpg?1

• Like 1

That jeep 6 cylinder is pretty long. It's fairly simple to keep the Datsun motor if it runs. Pick up a transmission and transfer case from 720. Earlier ones had a divorced transfer case that is also an option.

What year is the Jeep? If it has a Dana 20 case, you could find an adapter although they are getting hard to find.

The 720 has a centered front output. Hardly desirable for a SAS truck.

The D-20 can be converted to divorced by fabing a front cover and input shaft.

The advantages of the 20 are:

correct offsets for you're running gear.

iron case.

Pass through high range.

Low cost due to availability.

Can be converted to a TRUE twin stick....

p_001.jpg?1

• Like 1

All true, I love my Dana 20's :D

I have a divorced one in the shed and a blown up one with the solid mount adapter in my storage unit. My truck has the solid mount style.

The one in my Jeep is twin stick and has Dana 18 gears in it for the lower range. I will probably build the one in the shed the same way to put in my truck eventually. :cool:

I notice that you got rid of the slip yoke for the intermediate shaft or is that just a flanged slip yoke?

The 258 / 4.0 is a long transplant for you're 620.

You will have to cut the fire wall substantially for the fit