New To the 720 crowd..

nismo24096

First off let me say...I'm new to the older Datsun crowd..but I have been a long time 240sx owner. and I look forward to customizing the 82 720 KC that I picked up today...

its kinda rough on the outside now..and the engine has a super high idle..and bogs to nothing when you mash the gas..but then it stumbles and then revs up..person I got it from just put a new rebuilt carb on it..and replaced all the vac lines...Im guessing he messed up something..so I have to figure out all that.. I also picked up some cool little turbine wheels...(15x10 with somewhere in the -50 to -60) offset range... funny part is I bought the rims first then the truck second..lol they are rough but have great potential also..just need some TLC like the truck.. anyways here are the pics..enjoy...I got big plans for this little truck....Lee 

720kc002_zpsf44df1c4.jpg[/url]

720kc004_zps48402f1f.jpg[/url]

3I53N53H65Id5E25M9d39230818e9764e177e_zp[/url]

3Eb3Gc3L65Ef5K55Jed396669997b943e11ae_zp[/url]

• Like 1
  • Replies 372
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to Ratsun  B)

Nice first post, good job.

I had an 82 datsun 720 diesel for a while, but I sold it to make room for my 521s, but one thing I would do is find a 1980 or 1983+ silver hood that matches your paint and get rid of the tacky 81/82 hoods with the goofy plastic things, but maybe you like them, they are an acquired taste, and I don't have that acquired taste yet I guess.  :lol:

Take care of your new possession and it will take care of you.

I still have a 720 though, it's another one of my creations, here is a link to it.

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/42317-my-1980-datsun-720-diesel-dually/

When warmed up take the top off the air filter and take a look. Is the choke plate closes or only part open??

Like this...

carb720notlikethisLarge.jpg

This is the way it should look...

carb720shouldlooklikethisLarge.jpg