New throw-out bearing, bad?

Trento

Hey guys, so my friends and I dropped my tranny and put in a new clutch kit (clutch plate, pressure plate, throw-out bearing and pilot bearing)

But now, when I have the clutch disengaged/clutch pedal pushed in, I'm getting a winding sound, like a bearing gone bad. Everything is pointing to the throw-out bearing, and atm I need the car to drive for work, so I'm hoping to get a response quickly within the next day so I can fix it.

Friend of mine says if I adjust the clutch pedal it should help, other people are saying I got a bad bearing.

It's a '78 280z

and it's an Exedy OEM clutch kit

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I doubt an adjustment would help , but you can always try.

Whining/squealing bearing is usually lack of lubrication ( in my experience but I'm not a mechanic :) )

( as you already know as well ;) )

I believe Datzenmike ... encourages to pack the throwout bearings with grease ( even though they are technically "sealed" :) )

You could also have a bad rear main/bad front tranny seal and oil is getting on the components , but sounds like a bad/dry throwout to me

Hopefully there is lube on the input shaft bushing/bearing.

Just a thought and good luck

I cant see a bearing going bad that fast. All the Exedy kits I have seen use a KOYO bearing=good. did it say made in Japan?

The bearings I seen are all sealed and not able to pack.

YOu sure your trans has oil in it?

I did see one bearing go bad. I gave it to a guy and it shredded up in less than a year. I ask if you ck for pressure at the throwout clutch lever. It may have been adjusted wrong as he had the 510 type adjustment at the clutch lever. the later type are no adjustable so assume the adjustmant happens when you bleed the clutch

• Like 1

Trans has oil.