Is it ok if I leave an intro here?

I hope so!  I have been lurking on this website off and on for a couple of years now and decided it was about time I signed up.  What prompted me to sign up you may wonder, well,  I bought this....

100_4167.jpg

Hi, my name is Russell and I now own a 1972 Datsun 510 2 door.  I just brought it home to Orlando Florida this past Sunday (2/24/13).

Just so you know, I am not new to forums or cars or anything.  I am new to Datsun 510s though.  I have been into Nissan Sentras since I bought my first one in 1995.  A 1992 base model Sentra E.  If you must know, the "E" stands for "enough" as opposed to "equipped".  After many years I was able to turn that basic panda Sentra in to this;

512austinaloftlot.jpg

This green Sentra is currently taking up my garage undergoing another transformation.

I also had a 1996 200sx SE-R that I worked on a bit. 

100_0783-1.jpg

I ended up parting that one out.

At one time I had an interlude from the Nissans and bought a Toyota MR2 Spyder.

100_3164.jpg

I sold that one to a friend of mine and he has had a lot of fun autocrossing it!

In 2001 I bought a 1992 Sentra SE-R that I built into a race car.  I got my SCCA racing license in 2003 in this car.

100_2396.jpg

The logbook is current and I run it when I can ($$$$).  Unfortunately that is not as often as I would like.

So here I am learning about my new 510.  I have already found a tremendous amount of info from this community and I look forward to learning more.  I will be starting a thread in the project Datto section soon.

Thanks for checking me out!

• Like 5
  • Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Oh gawd da yota! Kill it with fire!

Just kidding. Love the history there, nice looking projects and you look to be well versed in function > form.

That is a very nice looking 510, can't wait to see what you do with it (as long as its not a v8...)