Weber vs. Hitachi - '79 620 w/ L20b

fizrat

I get the feeling I'm opening up a can of worms by asking this question, but here goes.

I need to put a new carb on my 620-based RV (1979). I can't get the idle down below 1200 RPM (unless you manually push the throttle down), it hesitates and almost dies when accelerating from idle, and when accelerating at higher speeds it stumbles. It's the L20B engine, 4 speed transmission,  with what I believe to be a stock carb (DCH328, I think). I think I'll take the old carb and attempt a rebuild mostly as a learning experience, but it'll be my first try at rebuilding a carb, and I'll want to take my time on it, thus I want to install a carb in the meantime. The question, of course, is: which carb? A Weber 32/36 or Hitachi DCH340?

I'm pretty new at working on cars. I've gleaned some information on the carb question from the forum, but didn't see it all in one thread. Also I wanted to post in the hopes that folks could confirm or correct what I think I've learned and also to get more input. 

Here's what I've picked up so far:

Weber

pros: better performance at high RPMs

simpler - fewer vacuum emission control tubes to deal with

cons: dirtier emissions

not as easy to tune (have to be tuned by changing jets)

Hitachi

pros: better MPG?

can be tuned using adjustment screws

cons: slightly less performance at high RPM

What I'm dealing with is an L20b that's working pretty hard, lugging around a GVW around 2000 kg. On my recent road trip it couldn't really get above 50-55 mph and needed down to downshift on any significant uphill grades. I'm willing to accept that might just be the limits of this vehicle, but I'm also wondering whether the performance advantages of the Weber would be relevant to this situation or not.

And since people always ask, here's a picture:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53954929@N07/8305861178/

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic