85 King Cab 2wd bed.

djflizo69

What's up guys my name is Florencio but all my friends call me "Flo" i'm new to the 720 world but i have brothers that had 720's back in the day when i was only 15-16 years old. I am now the proud owner of a 85 King Cab. I plan on doin it up Southern California style. My question is, Is the bed from a regular cab long bed the same as a King Cab bed? I mean, are the mounting points the same? Can you put a long bed on a King Cab from a regular cab long bed? Also, does anybody now the measurements from corner to corner on a King Cab? (Diagonal) I'm trying to check the squareness of my frame.Oh! can you guys tell me the lengths between a long bed and a short bed? Anyway, i hope to here from the pros, Thanks in advance!!

• Like 1
  • Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Longbed beds are significantly longer. King Cabs have short beds. On the 720, the King Cab bed and the SWB (Short Wheelbase) truck are the same length BUT the mounts are in different places, but more importantly the wheel openings and inner fenders are in different places (this wasn't the case on the earlier 620).

You could put a Longbed bed on a KC, but you would need to lengthen the frame (or, easier, cut 2 trucks apart and weld the frames together just behind the cab).

Thanks for the response datsunaholic. I think someone put a different bed on my truck after they wrecked it. I'v tried to alighn the bed but it wont line up with the cab,The mounts on the bed seem to be different. So, i should be trying to fit a king cab bed on my truck, and not a regualr cab bed, Right?

Also, does anybody now the measurements from corner to corner on a King Cab? (Diagonal) I'm trying to check the squareness of my frame.