Found this while replacing head gasket

Silky_Johnson

So, I am a novice mechanic with (I would say) decent skills. Thanks to Ratsun I have the information I need to be prepared for my projects!

I finally decided to try tackling a head gasket replacement on my L18, and I expected to find some things when I got the head off. I'm also putting in a new radiator and some other items while everything is apart. I think compression is low on cylinder #1, So I figured I would find something there.

To start off the oics, I guess the good news is that I can finally confirm that my A87 is a closed-chamber head!

IMG_0084.jpg

And here are some close-ups of what I found, valve-wise:

IMG_0085.jpg

IMG_0086.jpg

IMG_0087.jpg

and #4

IMG_0088.jpg

Given the suspected low compression at #1, I was hoping to find something wrong with the valves so that I didn't have to mess around with the bottom end. To me, it looks like the exhaust valve has some damage, and the intake valve looks to be really crusty, if not also damaged?

Maybe you guys can help me know what I'm seeing? I took the head down to the machine shop (Clackamas Auto Parts), and the machinist isn't going to be in until Monday morning, so I'm hoping that you guys can help me know what to ask for when I talk to him. Should any valves be replaced? #2 valves look awesome to me, and the others don't look bad. What needs to be done, if anything? If you guys say they look good, I'll throw on some new valve stem seals and call it good.

KEEP READING: