510 Won't start.

Double_d

Hey ratsun,

I could your help. So I recently got my car started again and now I ran into another problem.

The car doesn't click when turning the ignition switch and when i crank it doesn't crank and starter doesn't do anything.

Before this happened this is what I did.

I started with my wire tuck and moved the fuse box in the cabin right under where the fuse box usually would be if it were under the hood.

What I did to diagnose what "might" be the problem since I have some experience in electrical. Battery runs at 12.3-13V so its not the battery. Also tossed the new battery cables and put new ones. New starter installed 4-5 days ago. Also bought a new ignition coil / ballast resistor. New NGK spark plug wires. So after this, I new it was nothing in the engine compartment that might be causing this problem.

Also before I did the wire tuck, all connections were good and the car would start. The only thing I did different during the wire tuck, was move the fuse box and did a little wire cleaning so it's not a big mess.

So my conclusion so far is, it might be the ignition fuse or at least the ignition switch went out? I hope this was detailed enough for some of you to help me somehow.

Thanks.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There is no Ignition fuse. There are several fuses that run off the ignition circuit though. Take out each one, test them (don't rely on visual inspection only) and put them back in.

When you turn key to ON/Run the gauge lights should come on. If they don't, check the Fusible Link on the positive battery cable.

When you turn key to ON/Run the gauge lights should come on. If they don't, check the Fusible Link on the positive battery cable
is the fusible link between the alternator and starter?