Help! Battery sparks like crazy

Hey guys I'm new to ratsun and datsun in general and I'm hoping you guys can help me.

So I recently just installed a new alternator for my 72 510 and after it's installed I tried connecting the battery but all I got was crazy sparks not just those pussy sparks, checked my grounds everything was tight and no wires was crossed, anyone knows the reason behind this?

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If the concern started after you changed the alternator it is possible you may have connected it incorectly. Possibly connecting the heavy gauge battery wire to metal alternator case or connecting the black regulator ground wire to the positive battery cable lug on the alternator back side. Below is a wiring diagram of the charging system.

Chargingwiring_diagram.jpg

• Like 1

Your friend is wrong.

My alternator battery wire I hooked up straight to the starter instead of a fusible link is that ok?

No, not OK. If you have a large short, it can burn up the wiring. Use the original style wiring for safety.

my car can't handle much amp from a new alt

Poppycock. When the engine isn't running, it doesn't matter how many amps the alternator *might* output. It would not cause sparks unless it is defective or miswired.

Oh, by the way you can put a 130A alternator in a 510 without changing the wiring harness. All you need to do is fit a larger ground and ALT wire from the the alternator to the battery, along with a suitable Fusible Link.

Of course a 510 does not use more than 35A even with all accessories on at the same time. But perhaps youve added stuff like a winch, 10000 watt sound system, and electric heated seats. Which would need more than 35A.

Mitsubishi is original Datsun equipment. So was Hitachi