What battery to run

boxboy

My 75 month battery is on its 85th month. Curious to know what battery you guys are running that is close to the original size. My battery is not original, but it also no longer has any part numbers visible. I am assuming that any battery that fits will work considering spec is around 290 cold cranking amps!

• Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

always buy close to same size But more you pay the better the battery. More cranking amps means the better the plates.

However a good alternator and esp the voltage reg in working oder helps from ruiing a battery also.

Run a cheap volt gauge or a cig lighter volt gauge to see if any proplems rise up before it ruins a battery.

I think Red Top batteries sucks Just forgot the brand but you knwo what I mean.

Just my opinio here

I've been using Sears Group 26 for the past 10 years. Great batteries, low-price. They have more CCA than the original spec 520/521 battery. They are very small, so if you want an exact fit, get a larger more expensive battery.

I use them in both my Datsuns, including the high-compression one, and in my Ford V6 pickup. Plenty of power and they last. Only $50. Lightweight = better fuel economy + more effective power (lb/hp).

15362.jpg

24 series was stock for all Datsuns IIRC. Their price/rating makes them a good choice. They're a little larger then some, but they yield a very decent bit of power for the price. Although like GGzilla said, 26 series is a pretty good choice.

If you're going for lightweight, 51/51R series is where to look. If you want power, go Optima Yellow.

Autozone's Duralast batteries are some of the most popular lead/acid battery on the market and have a good life span if you take care of them.

You can even buy a Duralast AGM battery with a similar design to Optima's for a fraction of the cost. Usually about $134 vs. $209 for the comparable Optima.

Lawn tractor battery :P

J/k