Triple side draft tech question

Busta Nut

Sorry if this may seem like a stupid question but I have very little experience with carbs and knew even less when I bought all this shit a decade ago. I bought two 40mm DCOEs for my 510 project. Found a 240z at an irresistible price and bought that. 510 project got put on the back burner so I thought I would be a good idea to put them on my Z. Bought another and slapped them on my Z. Never ran great but good enough to drive. Recently started driving again and thought I'd check things out. Turns out the number on the carbs don't match(big surprise there,huh). 2 for a 510, 1 for a Z. Is there some kind of kit to make them all the same so I can tune the Z properly??

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Other people here know a lot more about these carbs, but for starters ..

Are the carbs the same size? I think you can change the choke size? Are they the same size? If its just the jet sizes that are different that's easy, 10 minute fix.

There are lots of things that would need to be known ... if the carbs are all DCOE 40's they can be tuned the same. Do you have a carb synchronizer?

So here are a couple pix. All three are 40DCOE 151

The two for the 510 read 033 01

IMG_0366.jpg

The one I bought later for the Z reads 277 06

IMG_0367.jpg

Both appear to be identical from the exterior

IMG_0373.jpg

240z

IMG_0374.jpg

I've had a Carter fuel pump on there with a crap gauge that didn't read accurately since I bought them.

IMG_0361.jpg

IMG_0360.jpg

I was told that the Carter pumps fuel at about 5-6 psi. Which is too high for the carbs, so a Holley pressure regulator and gauge was recommended to me and I never installed them until last night.

IMG_0359.jpg