69 VG30E 510

montanosvg30

Hello everyone, I'm new to this source of great information. I just wanted to know if I am in the right track with the wiring of the 87 200SX VG30.

I have the CAN/AM, but my problem is that I cut wires when i removed the engine from the donor. I didn't know best. Now I'm doing my best to understand how to wire everything.

1st. Alternator: un-pluged the regulator to jump the wires to switch internal regulator. The alternator is connected to the 510s harness, from the original alt wires.

2nd. Where do I wire the ignition coil to?

3rd. Do I have to put a starter button for ignition?

would all the items above be solved if I wouldnt of cut the wires? would they have all trace back to the 8-9 wires from the ECU to CAN/AM and ready to go?

TIA!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

1. That's what I did. Just follow the write ups on converting from external to internal IR and you'll be fine.

2. Do you have the ignition module? It's a smallish transistor looking device. It will need to be wired into the ignition circuit.

3. No

Do you have a FSM for the model and year of your donor? If not, go to NICO and find their FSM archive. You will need the schematic to trace out the wires for the VG harness. Once you have that then wiring the ignition is quite simple.

1. That's what I did. Just follow the write ups on converting from external to internal IR and you'll be fine.

2. Do you have the ignition module? It's a smallish transistor looking device. It will need to be wired into the ignition circuit.

3. No

Do you have a FSM for the model and year of your donor? If not, go to NICO and find their FSM archive. You will need the schematic to trace out the wires for the VG harness. Once you have that then wiring the ignition is quite simple.

1. OK

2. I do have the ignition module, its on the same connection with the ignition coil.

3. OK