L20 rebuild questions

screamer510

From a previous owner, about my "77 200SX L20b:

"The engine was rebuilt and installed at about 102,000 miles. It was 26+

years ago but from memory the cylinder walls were honed and they used new

rings and the original pistons. All bearings, etc. were replaced."

The engine now has only 141,000 miles on it, but since the rebuild was such a long time ago:

1. should I be worried about changing the bearings when I replace the piston rings?

2. do I need to replace rod bolts and head bolts (they're the turbo ones) or can I reuse them?

3. I'm not really a newbie on rebuilds, but what else should I look out for?

I want it to last!

Dan

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The engine now has only 141,000 miles on it, but since the rebuild was such a long time ago:

1. should I be worried about changing the bearings when I replace the piston rings?

2. do I need to replace rod bolts and head bolts (they're the turbo ones) or can I reuse them?

I want it to last!

Dan

1/ If the motor runs good just leave it and drive it. If burning oil or poor performance is the reason you want to re-build keep in mind that motors can't be re-built over and over just by honing and replacing the rings.. they do wear out. If rebuilding it by replacing the rings and because it has already been done once before, you should at least measure the cylinder wear. Likely it exceeds the limit and should be over bored and larger over size pistons and rings installed. To answer the question, yes, new rod and crank bearings are a good idea if investing this much effort in a rebuild. If your plan is to just hone and install rings like the last rebuild then don't bother with the bearings you can do all that when you re-build again in a couple of months.

2/ rod and head bolts are totally re-usable if undamaged. Clean the threads and the threads in the block.