Ford, 8, 8.8, 9 Source

citymunky

I'm new to the solid rear axle cars so please bear with me. I been reading a lot about rear axle/diff upgrades for 510 wagons and the most common I keep reading about are Ford rear axle, however I can't find a list of Fords that came with 8", 8.8" and 9" diff's. At the end of the day I'm looking for something that with take about 350 WHP to 400 WHP and the least amount of modifying to fit.

BTW I found a 1988 Ford Mustang LX 5.0, stick. would that have a 8.8"? Mustang link

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If I go the Junk Yard it will cost $235 for the whole axle with brakes and everything. Pick&Pull,. Now I'll just have to make the fronts 5x114.3 too.

Front is easy. You can run S12 200SX SE V6 front struts & hubs which are already 5 lug, or run 280zx struts with a conglomeration of S12 V6 hubs and I can't remember what brakes.

probably the easiest vehicle to find an 8.8 in is an Explorer. If you look on the differential cover, "usually" there is a tag with the diff size, and the gear ratio stamped on it. Two tags sometimes means limited slip.

The explorer's pinion is offset IS 2-3/16" and the axles are different length per side. The mustang 8.8 is only offset about .75".

The explorer's pinion is offset over 2" and the axles are different length per side. The mustang 8.8 is only offset about .75".

you need the offset axles, use 2 shortside axle housings and axles, so it fits under a 510. Even then might be hard to keep from rollin or flairing it. Ad some fwd offset wheels to get track right mybe but the brakes are pretty big, you could take the ranger rear 91-96 maybe others have drums and are pretty compact so I think a 14-15 inch rim would clear it, still got to weld spring perches on and check the lsd at the yard the 8.8s are shit and wear out if used much.