Interchangeable Parts

Joel

I'm new to Datsuns, after having been into German cars for a while. In my German travels I found a very helpful site for my old 5-Series which laid out a precise list of parts from other BMWs, and listed whether they were a usable stock replacement or upgrade, and whether it was a direct bolt-on or took some modification/fabrication. Here's a link:

http://www.firstfives.org/parts.html

I'm sure with the pool of knowledge collectively hanging around here we could organize something similar, right? As I'm new to the Japaneses, I can't be much help with which parts fit which cars, but if people can post what they know I'd be more than happy to organize all the info

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Sounds like you are looking for a parts matrix of sorts...hmmm...I never thought about that.

Us 610 owners are more of the 'I want to upgrade (insert part name here) and what car (or cars as it were) do I get this upgrade from?' A matrix would most certainly alleviate some of those problems.

I'll update my original post with a list as people post ideas of what might work and/or confirm what definitely does work.

To get the ball rolling, one example which I haven't been able to confirm is bumpers--I've read that smaller 510 bumpers can be made to fit on a 610. Could anyone who's had experience with this shed some light on which years of 510 are ideal, and what kind of modification is necessary? Or maybe it either doesn't work or isn't worth it?