Custom coilovers? Sunny specific

metalmonkey47

So I've been reading up on the interwebz about home-made coilovers, and spoken to a few local guys about it, and it seems like something I'd love to try. For obvious reasons duh.

Anyways, I was told it'd be as simple as cutting down the spring perches, but leaving enough of a lip to allow coilover sleeves to rest upon the lip. I'd like to weld it, but I'd prefer not to do the welding myself because I don't trust my welds.

I'm a suspension noob and I wanna make sure I have all my ducks in a row before hacking up the struts. I've found info on doing it on Fiero's, S13's, etc but nothing more specific to my car. No surprise.

Now I imagine these 210 struts can't be much different then 510 struts, correct? What kind of springs and sleeves would I want to look into and how would I go about attaching it to the mount on the car?

I know Ground Control sells a complete kit for $199, but again thats a weld in kit, and I don't have anyone that I trust to weld my suspension. I'd like to do it as cheaply as possible, but if I'm stuck spending $200 on it I may just have to.

I need the front end aligned, but I figured before that I'd give the suspension some attention. It's all factory with over 200K miles on it.

Here's what I'm working with now.

DSC_0297.jpg

Edited by metalmonkey47
  • Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

We talk about Sunny specific coilovers all the time on Datsun1200.com, and even the 210 struts and 280ZX struts. Got ton's of oics and stuff.

There are only weld-in kits. No other kind. But some guys use shaft collars, apparently they work well but many don't trust them.

datto510 used that method on the white wagon, skib rolled around in it for a while. seems to hold up pretty well.

Cut the perches yourself, be careful with a grinder... Move them to desired length, and pay a SHOP to weld them on, probably cost you 30-40 bucks.