l20b w/ l28 flat tops and a87 peanut head

lynchfourtwenty

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

http://www.rbracing-rsr.com/compstaticcalc.html

I'm no expert, but I find accurately calculating the compression ratio is a very interesting part of engine building. Not difficult either.

I'm running over 11:1 on 95 octane - with no problems (Hainz said my HG is gonna blow soon - but she's done 5000miles already :D ). My motor is a peanut head L18 with L28 flat tops. No need for valve reliefs. My closest piston to valve clearance measured about .060".

It seems from my own experience and what I've read on Ratsun that this combination is unusually resistant to knocking. Bear in mind that 'squish' is critical to preventing knock; try to have deck clearance around .030 - .040".

Edited by zed

L20B with 86mm flattops = 1997cc

Open head......... 10.11

Closed head....... 10.87

Also a peanut head on stock dished pistons does not have the same quench area a flattops. Flattops have the best advantage as the whole area of the piston top covered by the head is the 'pinch' area. Stock L20B only have a 1cm wide ring around the piston edge that is pinched.

Edited by datzenmike
Hey datsunmike I have l20b with 87mm flattop pistons on an open chambered u67.. I only get 91 here in cali unless I want 101 but there's only like 4 places I know that has it...but my ? To u is wat do you think my compression ratio is at?

Think?..... Hell, I'll work that out and we'll know for sure!!!

L20B with 87mm flattops with U-67 open chamber head would be a 2,043.9cc motor with 10.292 compression. This assumes a standard head gasket crushed thickness of 1.2mm and an un milled head.